The Farm

Jan. 24, 2004 ~ Of strangers and grand-dogs

He looked so sad, and hungry, and as if he didn't feel well. I'd bought things to send to Soldier Boy and Soldier Cousin, and had a few packages of beef stew and chicken and noodles. So there in the store parking lot, I asked the sad stranger if he would like some stew. Or maybe some chicken and noodles. He allowed as how maybe he would. So I opened the package of chicken and set it down on the ground, next to a light pole, and stepped away. He was shy, hesitant to eat while I was near. When I was far enough away for him to feel safe, he quickly devoured each and every bite, licking the dish clean. But he kept giving me that sad look. I wondered aloud if he was still hungry. Yes, it seemed he was. So I repeated the process with a package of beef stew. This time he ate half of it, then picked up the dish in his mouth and carried it to the far edge of the parking lot.

"You're dropping your potatoes!" I called out.

He turned and looked behind him, then continued on his way to the swing set area. Maybe he felt safer there. I watched as he once again licked the dish clean, then returned to pick up the lost potatoes.

I had just given Soldier Cousin's care package food to a stray dog, and felt a little guilty about that. Felt a little dumb, too, considering the price of People Food compared to Dog Food. But there was more food inside the store, and I'd buy something for Cousin next time I was there. That dog haunted me. I had seen it the day before, in the parking lot next door to the store, as I was leaving a meeting. The caterer had tried to catch him; I'd tried to catch him, but he was wary, frightened. And he just looked so sad. There are houses all around there, and I worried that he lived nearby, and wouldn't I feel silly if I caught someone's pet and took it to Susan's clinic? This isn't like the big city; people let their pets roam here. Still. I told Husband about the dog that night, and the next night, after I'd fed it. Last night College Boy (he's home visiting this weekend) and I were at the store, and as we were leaving, there was the dog. This time I was better prepared, having two sample-size packages of dog food from the feed store. I emptied the packages out and stepped away, and he ate every bite. Looked up as if to ask, "No stew?" So, silly me, once again I opened Soldier Cousin's package of stew and gave it to the dog. He ate most of it, then carried the container to the far side of the parking lot again.

Usually, I carry water in the truck, but I couldn't find it anywhere. That dog was probably thirsty. I dumped a container of tapioca pudding in his dish, and stepped back so he could eat. Pudding and stew are not the best choices for dog food, are they?

Sigh. Poor Soldier Cousin. Let's not tell him that I keep giving his food to a stray animal, okay?

We do not need another dog, but I can't stand to see this baby hungry. Maybe Susan would be his foster mom till a home could be found? She does a lot of that. I'd even spring for his food.

I saw him again this morning, as I was driving to the feed store, so I picked up a pound of dog biscuits and some more sample packs of food. The dog biscuits were supposedly for Meadow, but Stranger Dog got his share, too, along with the packages of food. A friend saw me feeding the dog and said she would call Susan when she got home. But the friend thinks this is the same dog that lived in this parking lot last year, the dog no one could catch.


Meadow is charming. She is always into mischief, but she's a wonderful grandpuppy. She decided that Karen's new calf was not much bigger than she was, and it would be fun to chase her. Karen thought that was a bad idea. Meadow came running back to hide behind me, after Karen tried to chase HER.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter