The Farm

Dec. 23, 2003 ~ Bitter cold

Baby, it's cold out there! Okay, it's probably not all that cold, especially to those of you who are used to snow and ice and sub-zero temperatures. It just feels awfully chilly, at 55 degrees with 25 mph winds. The wind is what really does it.

It rained last night, hard, and I said, "It's going to fill up the ponds!" As if. We can't ever remember the ponds being this low, and it will take more than one hard rain to fill them. But maybe someday the water will rise to the normal levels again, and there will be one less thing to worry about.

Here it is close to Christmas and I'm suddenly tired, with little "want-to" left. I'm partied out. We have one more party to attend tonight, and I'm halfway hoping that Husband gets home really late and we won't be able to make it. Shame on me. It's a huge affair, standing room only, and the host and hostess will not be upset should we be unable to attend. They know Husband usually has to work late. Everyone brings something to this event, and the Hostess made the usual suggestions (I always bring the same exact thing!), and then she said "Or you can bring chips." Chips! That's doable! I'm going to have to drag myself to the store to get them, and I'm getting a haircut this afternoon, so I'll try to get all the errands done in one trip. Does anyone else feel this way? I'm not sleepy-tired, just... some other kind. Soul weary. I find myself saying, "Is it over yet?" Which is decidedly unChristmasy and very party-pooperish. All the hoopla and preparations start so early now, and whatever I do, it never seems like enough. Like presents. It sure seemed like a lot when I was buying them, but now that they are wrapped and/or mailed, it doesn't seem like much at all. Certainly not enough.

There are worries about work, with our company being sold. The future is not looking so rosy, in terms of employment. If things don't improve next month, I expect I will find myself jobless.

And of course there is that other worry, the one we won't mention. And College Boy is moving away in a few short weeks.

Tomorrow will be better, I'm sure. No doubt about it. College Boy is here, and Soldier Boy will be home soon.

There's always something to smile about, no matter what.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter