The Farm

Dec. 20, 2003 ~ What yellow ribbons?

The town's yellow ribbons are officially gone, history, unwelcome by the merchants on the square because they were so neglected and in such bad shape (the ribbons, not the merchants). It would be pretty hard to convince the city council to allow me to put ribbons up now, because the last person who did so... promised to keep them in good repair, and she did, for awhile. But then she let them go. So the city has been "burned," and I think I'll concentrate on my own personal ribbons. But today I remembered why we have so few of them now. The cows! Most people probably do not have to worry about cows eating their yellow ribbons! Those stinkers. Anyway, I think I can manage a few more bows, in places where the cows can't get to them. The bows on our front gateposts are still there, but they weren't all that pretty to begin with, so I may try to redo them.

And I need to get Soldier Boy's room presentable!

There is a lot to do!

Why am I using all these exclamation points?! Dunno. Maybe because my baby is coming home.

Oh! And I need to make a list of things to do while he is here. Exciting things, like watching him sleep. Listening to him laugh. Oh, and the regular things, too, like going out to eat, and whatever he wants to do.

Oh! And I must make pies! Chocolate cream and lemon meringue. And oatmeal raisin cookies, and fudge. But I think I'll wait until he gets here for that. For now, I'm going out to help Husband with the cows, and then I'm going to work on the boy's room.

Because my baby is coming home. That bears repeating.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter