The Farm

Dec. 01, 2003 ~ The letter

As I was outside working with the cows this morning, a delivery truck pulled up in our yard. Hmmmm. Not expecting anything, for one brief moment I thought I might have won a contest. Hah! It was an official letter from the owners of our franchise, telling us we had been sold, effective TODAY. All staff members got the same letter today. At this point we don't even know about salary or vacation pay or anything. How weird! The letter said we are all being kept on, which is nice, but it is so odd to know so little about everything. We are all in shock! This was a family-owned business for almost forty years, and we never expected that to change. Oh, well. Maybe some of the changes will be good. That's what I told Husband last year, when his company was sold.

On a different subject, our newest little calf is cute as she can be, but not terribly bright. A typical calf. Suzy's twins are smart, as calves go, but the new animal is pretty typical. Doesn't understand the concept of gates. Doesn't want to go where we want her to go. But did I mention that she is cute? She is! She's sparkly fresh white, clean and new and adorable, and we call her Snowball. Yes, I know. We are out of good names for the cows and calves, and some of my friends get SO irritated when I try to name cows after them (do they not understand it's an honor?), so now we are down to using names like Snowball and Brownie and Whitey (guess what colors Brownie and Whitey are?). We have a barn cat named Blackie and one named Boots... you can probably figure out what they look like, too.

I might have pulled something in my back tonight. Sheesh! I thought I was doing better, and lifted something that was apparently too heavy. Husband asked why I didn't wait for him to do it. Well, obviously, I thought I could handle it myself. And I am tired of being helpless, of asking others to do things for me. Tomorrow will tell the tale. The back is sore and ouchy now, but if it's okay in the morning, no serious harm was done. Keep your fingers crossed, okay?

And if you're the praying sort, would you please say a prayer for my friend Kelli and her family? She's expecting a baby and is having some trouble right now.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter