The Farm

Nov. 09, 2003 ~ Sunday

The skies are still gray and misty, so there will probably be no baby photos taken today. Mother and calves have now officially been welcomed back into the herd, and everyone is doing well. The babies are still healthy, and they seem to be getting plenty of milk. Whew! Oh, they are precious. I am foolish about them, no doubt. All calves are cute; all babies are cute! But two... they're such a rarity that I just can't get over it. I think of them and smile.


It's funny how things work out. A few days ago I was so worried about financial matters. Sometimes I'm able to put things like that out of my mind, but other times, worries return no matter what. So here we have this set of twins born, and the sale of the "extra" calf will probably cover one unexpected expense. Last week I was supposed to sub for someone, and was pleased about the extra income, but I got sick and wound up having to find someone to sub for me. Never mind, I told myself. It can't be helped, and it will all work out somehow. Well. The person who subbed for me last week has now asked me to work for her this week, so it all balances out for both of us. Isn't it funny how things happen?


We received sad and unexpected news last night. Husband's brother and sister-in-law are moving to an assisted living center, as she is unable to make the drive back and forth from their home to receive chemo. They have a beautiful home in the country, her dream house, everything exactly as she wanted it. For years she had clipped articles, ads, and photos from magazines, of everything she wanted in her ideal home, and then they had an opportunity to make that dream come true. Brother-in-law loved that home, too, and the surrounding land, and all their many friends in the church and the community. They thrived there. And while having to move is the very least of their problems, it is one indication of just how serious things are. Wild horses could not have torn them from their precious haven. But illness did. And love. Wherever she is, he will be. Their children are going to their home to bring back what they need, and then the house will be closed up.

They hope to return in the spring.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter