The Farm

Oct. 27, 2003 ~ Grumpy

It's just a little dent, really. I am trying not to notice it. And wasn't I the one who recently wrote that it didn't bother me for trucks to have little scratches and dings? Apparently, it does bother me, sometimes. Seems like it bothers me when I see someone actually do the damage, and it didn't have to happen. But I was wrestling with what to do about it. Should I make an issue of it with the owner of the feed store, or not? It happened to my other truck, and I just let that go. And it is such a little dent, and it would be a real pain to have it repaired. And expensive. The truck is not without other dents and dings. Blah, blah, blah.

When I told them at the feed store about it on Saturday, I wanted them to know that the young man needed more instruction on how to drive a forklift, and how to approach vehicles, because he honestly didn't seem to know how. And if he continued to bump the customers' vehicles, there were going to be a lot of unhappy customers.

I didn't call the owner today, as I wanted to think about it a while longer, but I wondered why he hadn't called me. Well. I'd mentioned this little tale to a friend, who went to that particular feed store today, and happened to tell the owner that he had an unhappy customer. (My friend said that he hoped he hadn't spoken out of turn. He kind of did, but never mind.) And then it got interesting. The owner had not been told. Whether the young man truly forgot, or just didn't tell him, hoping I wouldn't say anything, I don't know. The boy who did the denting, told the owner that he had offered to pay for the damage. Um, I don't remember that part. Another boy, who was busy elsewhere when it happened, told the owner that there wasn't a mark on the truck, not even a scratch. Unless he used binoculars or has some sort of special powers (such as the ability to see through walls), I don't think he could have seen the incident. The sad thing is that I trusted Binocular Boy, having known him for a while, and he is a friend of my son's. I am hearing all this secondhand, so I should probably take it all with a grain of salt, but I am truly sad about them lying and covering up for each other (if, in fact, that's what happened). My friend thinks the truck-bumper will be fired. I hope not. That was never my intention. Everybody makes mistakes, and deserves a second chance, but shoot... they are making a bad situation worse.

The owner said he would take care of it for me, that he would make it right. I asked Husband if he thought it was worth the trouble. He said it was up to me. Trouble is, the whole tailgate would probably have to be replaced, and that part of the bedliner redone, and I'd be truckless for a while, and Ick, Ick, Ick. All for a little dent. So I don't know if it's worth going through all that. And I might not be happy with the results, because I can almost always see a difference in paint colors, no matter what they say, because of the age and fading of the existing paint on the vehicle.

Maybe this is just much ado about nothing...

Grumpy, grumpy me.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter