The Farm

Sept. 11, 2003 ~ Remembering

Though I have not felt up to doing much walking in recent months, today was different. On the morning of September 11, 2001, Susan and I were walking in our church's gym. So last year, we walked at the gym on September 11, too. We wanted to keep the tradition going, so for the first time since I can't remember when (maybe last year?), she and I walked there again today. We briefly stood and watched the TV, as we had that morning. This time, we heard them begin to recite the names of those lost.

Others will write things profound and meaningful, but I'm fresh out of "profound." Since that day, I've been worried about Soldier Boy. He had just graduated from advanced training... that very day. Literally. I remember hearing the news of the attacks, clutching Susan, and being unable to speak. I could only say my son's name. My fear was that he would be sent to war.

Well.

I will watch the tributes and remember. Can anyone really forget?

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter