The Farm

Sept. 10, 2003 ~ Wednesday

Last night we attended the family visitation at the funeral home. As expected, there were many, many people there. We did not know the young lady who died, but as our friends introduced us to their various family members, our hearts ached for them all. Teenagers stood huddled close together, seeming to need each other for physical support. Had they stood alone, they might have collapsed under the weight of their sorrow. It was the tall young man with the teddy bear who got to me. Probably a football player, he wept openly. Most likely, he planned to leave the little bear as a farewell gift, there among the flowers.

We will not attend the services today. I expect the church will be filled to capacity, and then some. Reporters will probably hover nearby. I hope they don't intrude.

Such a loss is always sobering. I do not need to hear about it on the evening news.


Several friends wrote, telling me that people often say stupid or foolish things when told of a death. They are caught off guard, or are uncomfortable, or just say the wrong thing and later regret it. The friends are right. I have certainly stuck my foot in my mouth at times, and wished I could take back words spoken in haste. My irritation and frustration didn't last long...


As College Boy walked out the door this morning, I thought of what it must have been like, just a few short days ago, for those families. They said good-bye to their daughters that morning, maybe said "I love you," or "Drive safely," or "See you tonight."

I can't seem to find any more words... so, until next time...

Take care.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter