The Farm

Jan. 14, 2003 ~ Small towns

There are advantages to living in a small town. Yesterday I did something kind of dumb. Was sending a package and a letter to Soldier Boy. Printed up the letter, got the envelope addressed and stamped, filled out the customs form, then gathered it all up and headed to the post office. Got home, sat down at the computer, and happened to glance up at the printer, where Soldier Boy's letter remained. Which meant that I'd mailed an empty envelope. Now this is a pretty silly thing to do, and ordinarily would be no big deal, but I pictured Soldier Boy, a month from now receiving an empty envelope, wondering what had happened. So I called the post office and asked to speak to the lady who had helped me. She was gone for the day, so I simply asked for the lady who had been working next to her. I explained who I was and what had happened. "No problem," she said. In a couple of minutes she got back on the phone and said she had retrieved the letter. I told her she could save the envelope for me or toss it, either one. "Throw it away? Forget it! I'll just put it in your P. O. Box." Um, right. Hadn't even thought of that. I smiled. They're so nice, down at the P.O. Always. They always let me use their tape, too. I have tape issues. For some reason I always worry that boxes and certain (thick) letters won't stay shut, so they require tape. Lots of it. I try to keep tape in my truck, but occasionally it finds its way back inside the house, and I am tapeless. Not a problem. They smile and hand me their tape. This isn't the case everywhere. Other post offices sometimes expect you to actually BUY tape. Imagine!

I grew up in a big city, but it didn't take long for me to adjust to small town life. Now I don't think I could ever live in a big city again. I LIKE knowing everybody. Okay, maybe we don't know every single person, but it sure seems that way.

Dakotah horse is still doing okay. He is now wearing a very sporty purple bandage on his hoof. It's quite attractive, I think. He requires antibiotic ointment and bandages for the next week or two. No problem. He got to go out in the pasture today, for which he was very grateful. But really, he's nearly perfect. An ideal horse. He's grateful for anything and everything. And he's so cooperative. We want to stick his foot in a bucket of water? Sure. Now we want to put goop on his hoof, then wrap it in purple bandages? Of course. Whatever... it's all okay with him.

My M-I-L is back in the hospital again, with a blood clot in her leg. She seems to be feeling pretty good, though.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter