The Farm

Dec. 06, 2002 ~ Rather than saying

"No word from Soldier Boy," each day, I'll just plan on letting you know when we DO hear from him. That's a more positive approach, don't you think? Yes. Tis.

I don't know if it's the stress of the situation, or my general weakness regarding certain types of food, but twice I've sent the boy packages, and twice this has led to me going on a huge binge, food-wise. We normally don't keep a lot of junk food in the house. Let me rephrase that; normally we don't keep MY favorite kinds of junk food in the house. I'm generally immune to College Boy's stuff, those Little Debbie snack cakes and eggnog and chocolate milk... that sort of thing. But candy bars are another story, and it's not wise for me to have many of those around. Far too tempting. But that's exactly what I've been sending overseas, among other things. And just having it in the house, and packing it up, tends to do me in. So adjustments must be made. In the future, I'll have the box made up and ready to fill, addressed, customs ticket filled out (except for contents), the whole bit. And when I come out of the store, I plan to fill the box at that time. Yes, in the parking lot. Then I'll add filler, if needed, tape it up, and take it directly to the Post Office. That will cut down on the temptation. It's kind of like it calls to me, you know? After awhile I tend to give in. But if it's gone right away... maybe that will help.


Yesterday when I went to feed the horses, I could see various types of tracks in the mud. Horse hoofprints, of course, but rooster tracks, and raccoon, too. Mr. or Ms. Coon left perfect little tracks, like tiny handprints, each toe and claw distinct. Cute. Of course this led to thoughts of Soldier Boy, a former hunting guide, who taught me about tracks. I remember a time when my biggest worries about him were frostbite and bears. He had frostbite a couple of times, I think, with no permanent damage. And he never had any real close calls with bears, though he was always prepared. Maybe those skills will serve him well... that constant awareness of danger, always being alert. And he is an excellent shot.

Today a friend at the bank told me that the year his brother was in Viet Nam was the longest year of his life. I think I know how he feels. Time has taken on a whole new meaning.

I got sidetracked, didn't I? This morning, again, while feeding the horses, I saw five beautiful does in the back pasture. It's hard to go outside in the mornings when it's so cold, but it's almost like these little gifts are my reward. Perfect little animal tracks, deer-o bouncing and playing in the pasture. And today it's sunny, after several days of rain! It's still cold, but it's not too bad. Maybe I'll go back out in a few minutes. This weather is just too perfect. Maybe my neighbor will want to go for a little walk. Think I'll check on that now.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter