The Farm

Nov. 28, 2002 ~ I expect

him home, safe and sound, in 178 days. No excuses. He told Husband that he may be there longer, but I'm not buying that. Not unless I see such a statement on official Army stationary, and even then... I may be suspicious. No, as far as I'm concerned, six months means six months, and that's what I expect.

Did I tell you my theory? They have six-month tours, which means that some of Soldier Boy's fellow soldiers have already done their time. They've missed holidays, birthdays, anniversaries and such. But with my son and the others going over there to relieve them, those who have been there will now get to come home. So even though my son will miss Thanksgiving and Christmas at home, some other mothers, wives and children will be very happy this year, because their loved ones have returned. So I'll keep that in mind. He's taking his turn.

One of College Boy's friends is home on leave, and the two of them are currently out and about. I had not a moment's ill will towards him for being here on American soil -- I'm glad he's here. I hope he stays here, and doesn't have to go over THERE at all.

Friends, obviously concerned, ask if I'm okay. I am. They ask if there's anything they can do. There isn't, not unless you can pull some strings... which I kind of doubt. Well, you can pray, if you're the praying sort. Or think good thoughts, if you prefer. I believe it will help. And I've put in a request to my guardian angel, who has done good work in the past. In the meantime, I will write letters, send packages and cards, and try to keep a positive attitude. And it's good to stay busy. I can't forget or ignore the situation, but neither can I think about it 24 hours a day.

To my American friends, I hope you've had a happy Thanksgiving! And to everyone else, I hope you've had a wonderful day. Here, we had a nice dinner, went for a walk in the woods, and checked on a cow who should calve any time now. Maybe even tonight.

OH! I didn't tell you about Blackie cat. Caught her yesterday and Susan took her to the clinic, where she doctored her eye (it's still there, though she will probably be blind in that eye or have limited vision), spayed her (she wasn't pregnant), and gave her her shots. She'll stay at the clinic for about a week to recuperate, and I plan to go visit from time to time, to help tame her down. So there's a bit of good news.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter