The Farm

Nov. 12, 2002 ~ Someone is in charge here,

and clearly, it's Misha. He has taken over and now rules the household with an iron paw. Since the rules have been relaxed and anything goes, he has become accustomed to eating on his schedule, going to the den on his schedule, etc. In other words, what Misha wants, Misha gets. Last night I couldn't sleep, and was up at 3:00 a.m. Misha thought that was just fine, and he asked to go out to the den. There's another type of cat food out there, a kind which Pepper isn't allowed to eat, so our lives have become a revolving door of cat in/cat out. We even set the timer on the kitchen stove to remind us to let him back in, so we don't forget. Obviously, I wasn't about to set the timer at that time of the morning, so I stood by the door, listening to his crunch, crunch, crunching, until the noises stopped. Then I opened the door (all this was in the dark) and he came halfway in, stopping to drink from the water bowl just inside the door. When we are rushed, we stoop down and pick him up, close the door, and set him back down. But last night I just stood and waited while he lapped delicately at the water. His Highness finally had his fill, and stepped aside.

He sleeps at the foot of our bed, literally where my feet should go, which means that I must bend my legs or sleep sideways, but hey... the cat rules.

Now that all bets are off regarding the diabetes, he expects to eat with us at every meal. And he does, for the most part. Some things he just can't or won't eat, but usually, his little plate goes on the floor by my side when we sit down to eat. He drinks milk when we do, eats meat when we do, and he has as much as he wants of whatever he wants.

He is feeling remarkably well, though I'm sure the diabetes is totally out of control. He's had no insulin since his last hypoglycemic episode. But he feels good, and he's more or less living on borrowed time.

King Misha -- long may he rule!


Soldier Boy called early this morning, once again asking our new address. It's a rainy, dreary day in Soldier land, and they are doing paperwork today. Filling out wills, powers of attorney, things like that. The last time he told me they were filling out "next of kin" forms I felt ill, but now I think it's just something they routinely do every few months, having more to do with the fact that they are paratroopers (or maybe all soldiers do this every few months?) than their upcoming trip to Afghanistan.

A friend sent me (and everyone in her address book) an email last night, one of those forwarded ones. You know the type. This one requested prayers for our soldiers and purported to have a message from a soldier stationed in Afghanistan. He was quoted as urgently requesting prayers, saying that they were involved in a "blood bath."

Well. What was she thinking, I wonder, when she sent that to me? First off, I don't know that this soldier really exists, and secondly, if he exists, I have no idea when this supposed message was written. It could have been last year. But at any rate, this is not something I want to receive. I don't mind the prayer request, of course, but do I really need to be reading things like "blood bath"? I do not. She probably was focused on the need for prayer and didn't even think about the other.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter