The Farm

Oct. 01, 2002 ~ Tiny dancer

I had all but given up hope of ever finding a certain music box. I'm not much of a music box person, or a jewelry box person, because I'm not much of a jewelry person. But one of my earliest memories, from a time when I was very small, is of winding up the mechanism on my mother's jewelry box. When you opened the lid, a tiny dancer would pop up and a song would play. My mother sang along sometimes, as did I. It stopped playing music years ago, and the box is probably long gone by now, but I have never forgotten that song. Actually, I only remember the first three words of the song, but I do recall the melody.

I've never been able to find it anywhere. I look at almost every jewelry box I see, turning it over to see the name of the tune it plays. Today I had decided to sing the song for our choir director, to see if maybe he would recognize it. But I decided to do one last online search, and incredibly -- despite the fact that previous searches have never turned up a thing -- there it was. The lyrics. And actual music boxes, some with tiny dancers. These music boxes aren't very pretty, but I am more interested in the song and the memories. There's one available for... a reasonable amount. We can't afford it now, not at all. But I am sorely tempted to buy it. I've been searching for years. This one even has a tiny dancer!

So I am giving serious thought to buying an ugly music box that we can ill afford, all because it has a cheap plastic pop-up ballerina and plays an old familiar song.

Yep. Sounds just like something I would do.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter