The Farm

Sept. 22, 2002 ~ "Open your heart

and keep making new friends." Words of advice from a seventy-something woman, talking about how she deals with losing so many loved ones. Had she not kept letting new people into her life, she would have found herself very much alone by now. Instead, she is happily remarried, and she makes new friends wherever she goes, people of all ages and from all walks of life. There are frequent good-byes, farewell services and such, but there are also weddings and celebrations, birthdays and joyous occasions.

Today is my forty-seventh birthday. It's been a good one. There were many cards from friends and loved ones, plenty of gifts, and several phone calls. A lovely dinner out. Much to be thankful for. Soldier Boy is coming for a visit soon, and that's the best gift of all! But the phone, for the most part, has been curiously silent... unlike in years past, when one call would be followed by another, before I could even hang up the phone. But there's a reason for that... I've said more than my share of good-byes.

This day, while happy, is also a reminder of loved ones lost... of those whose voices I'll never hear again. Friends and family, close to my heart, gone. There was a time when the losses came so quickly that I couldn't seem to catch my breath. Could not stop grieving for one before losing another. And after awhile, I began to fear getting close to people, because I was just so tired of losing them. But then I took a chance... I let one in. Slowly. Little by little. And another one. Then another. And they're all still here.

There is more I wanted to say, but I think it will keep.

"Open your heart and keep making new friends."

You'll need them and they'll need you.

Good advice, wouldn't you say?

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter