The Farm

Mar. 08, 2002 ~ It's been awhile

since the previous entry, and I don't have all that much to say, but thought I'd write a bit anyway. What could it hurt? Maybe something will come to me.

Nope, not yet. Hmmmm. Is it possible to write an entire entry about having nothing to say? Yes, but that might be a little boring.

------------------------------

The casualty reports on the evening News have taken on special meaning for me. I can remember hearing the death counts, for both sides, during Vietnam. Numbers, they were cold, impersonal numbers. But now when I hear that American soldiers have died, it's personal. The other day a woman spoke of the black sedan driving up, of two soldiers in their dress uniforms stepping out of the car -- her worst nightmare. And mine. There but for the grace of God... well, I just hope my soldier boy stays put. But rumor has it that my cousin's soldier son, who is now stationed in Germany, may soon be sent to either Kosovo or Afghanistan. The very thought makes me ill.

--------------------------------

The word is that my husband's company will change hands at the end of this month. There are still no promises about who will or won't be hired. Oddly enough, I'm not thinking much about it. If I did, I think it would drive me crazy, keep me awake nights, worry me no end. So I'm just waiting to find out, hoping for the best.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter