The Farm

Jan. 11, 2002 ~ New calf

A new heifer calf was born late last night. After losing that calf to coyotes last week, we are concerned about this baby. But Hannah Mae was ill and in shock; Amanda Jane is in good health and should be able to fend off any attackers. Still... looking out my window, I don't see Amanda with the herd, so I'd better head outside and have a look. I'm sure they're fine, but I'll feel better after I see them for myself. Later... Mother and baby are fine. Whew. Hannah Mae seems to be doing great, too. After she gets her stitches out tomorrow, she can return to the herd. We've been keeping her in a pen, so we can keep an eye on her.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter