The Farm

Nov. 28, 2001 ~ It's been awhile

since I've added an entry. There are good reasons for that. The BEST reason is that our soldier boy was home on leave for awhile, and we had a wonderful (but much too short) visit with him. We had an early Thanksgiving dinner at our church; he went with us and really enjoyed that. It's a GREAT way to have Thanksgiving dinner! Everyone brought just one or two things, cleaned up their own dishes, took home their own leftovers, and it was done. We do this every year and love it. On the actual day of Thanksgiving, I have to tell you that we ate Kentucky Fried Chicken. Oh, I know they call it KFC now, but do they think they're fooling us, not having the word "Fried" in the name? We still know what it is. Of course I was very virtuous (since I am a professional thin person, so to speak) and removed the skin before eating the chicken. With mashed potatoes and gravy, BBQ beans, and homemade coleslaw and pie, it was quite a nice meal. I even served it on the good china. No kidding. I'd inherited it from my mom, years ago, and had never used it. Recently it dawned on me... what was I saving it for? A special occasion? Isn't every day special, when we're with people we love?

So there was chicken and pie enough for two meals, no more leftovers, and I like it that way.

Soldier boy is now at his duty station. It's a time of transition for him. A new post, all new people, new routines, not knowing what to expect. He was supposed to be assigned to a unit yesterday... can't wait to hear about that. Hope he likes it. You know, in a weird way, this reminds me of when he was small and went away to camp. I wondered what his cabin was like. If he liked his counselor. If his cabin-mates were nice. I hoped they were.

I wonder what his unit is like. Does he like the officers? How are the room-mates?

I miss him. We all do.

--------------

The other good reason that I've been away for awhile? My computer died. Dead. Totally. No hope. And it's amazing, how much that affected my life. I had LOTS of information on that computer. It was four years old. Four years of letters, saved email messages, ADDRESSES and PHONE NUMBERS... if you haven't heard from me in a while and are wondering why, PLEASE, PLEASE drop me a note at my Diaryland address! And send me your URLS, please. Because we finally did buy a new computer. The catch is that it has Windows XP. And all those files we so carefully backed up? The programs are incompatible with XP. Can't read the information. Lovely. Somewhere I printed out a copy of important email addresses and links, but can I find that now? Of course not, that would be too easy.

In the grand scheme of things, losing a computer is definitely "small stuff." It's not life or death, not at all. Sure made me crazy for awhile, though. Did I mention that we had to reformat this BRAND NEW computer TWICE within 24 hours after we bought it? I probably would not have voluntarily chosen to buy a computer with a shiny new Windows OS, but XP is all they have now. Can't find the older 2000 or ME. XP is new, new, new, which means it is full of all kinds of bugs. And it doesn't like a lot of programs. It's kind of unsociable that way.

-------------------

I've been rambling, haven't I? See what happens when a person stays away from a computer for a long time? Pretty scary.

I've missed you guys...

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter