The Farm

August 28, 2001 ~ Say it ain't so

I have been carefully counting the ducks each day, as if by counting them, they are magically protected from harm. The babies are nearly as big as the mama now, so it probably won't be long until they all fly away. Except... except... there were four babies and the mama, and now there are four ducks. Larry said that the mama flew off and left them.

"She wouldn't DO that!" I protested. As if I was well acquainted with her personally and could vouch for her character.

"Sure looks that way. She's gone."

"But she wouldn't just fly off and abandon them, would she? How will they know how to get where they need to go? Something must have gotten her. Coyote, probably. Or one of those awful dogs. I think the dogs might be back," I said.

sigh...

So there are four baby ducks, now nearly grown, swimming on the pond, and not a mama duck in sight. I wonder if they would like to come live in our pen for the winter, with our ducks and chickens? Probably not. But I sure am wondering what will become of them.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter