The Farm

August 9, 2001 ~ Not really drugs, but...

When I told Larry that I was going to ask Susan about the spiffy new drug, he laughed and joked that maybe I could get it cheaper from her. Ha ha!

But then Susan presented me with a sack full of vitamins and supplements. She has decided that it can't hurt, it might help, and since we are both so careful about our weight, it's possible that we need a little extra something. It was hard to keep a straight face when I showed Larry all the stuff Susan gave me, as he said, "She IS prescribing drugs for you!" Oh, yes. What a funny, funny guy.

She also thought that maybe I could work part-time at her clinic. I wanted to volunteer. She wanted to pay me. It was a standoff. She had a backlog of paperwork to do, and she showed me how to use the computer program... fine, no problem. Then I picked up the stack of papers and she shrieked -- "You mean you can't SEE that?"

Long pause.

"You mean you CAN?"

I was holding the page a couple of inches from my face, looking over the top of my glasses, because -- let's be honest -- I need new glasses. The bifocal part. Blech. So I can SEE, technically, I just can't read very well, especially the teeny tiny print on the printouts at her office.

But Susan got all doctory again -- I'm really going to have to insist that she stop that -- and thought this might MEAN something, this not seeing very well, but I pointed out to her that I've been wearing glasses or contacts since I was eight years old and it would be pretty weird if I COULD see.

She said that I would probably wind up with terrible headaches or eyestrain if I tried to do this work. I denied it. She insisted. I wanted to help. She didn't think it would be good. Told her I would think about it. Unfortunately -- and I really, really hate to admit this -- she's right. Not so much about the headaches (oh, o-KAY, so maybe she's right about that, too. Sheesh.), but I wouldn't want to make any mistakes, and I'm afraid that would be easy to do.

sigh. Tomorrow I'll tell her that she's RIGHT and I'm not, and I probably can't help her or work for her, either one. Oh, well.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter