The Farm

August 1, 2001 - 2 ~ And last night

another calf was born. Bonnie Sue, one of our very best cows, had a difficult delivery. That's two who were turned wrong... in the space of about a month. It's been several years since the last one, so maybe we are done for now. I drove up and saw Larry out in the pasture with Bon-Bon, saw her licking the little lump of calf on the ground, and knew that this was a very recent arrival. As Larry turned and walked toward me, he held his arms out from his body in a way that suggested they were covered with calf slime. As in, he had to reach up inside the cow and turn the calf. Gee, and I missed all the fun! Actually, this delivery wasn't so bad... only one leg was turned wrong, and that's pretty easy to fix. I went out to see the new baby bull, who is CUTE, and watched Bonnie licking him vigorously. As we prepared to leave, I reached out to stroke the baby's ear (the only dry spot on his body), and he didn't seem to mind. It's fun when they're so new that they don't even know fear... We watched him try to take his first steps. The back end came up first, then a front leg, then Ker-plop, as he fell to the ground. This happened a few times, until he finally got both front legs under him. We figured he'd be okay, and we headed back to the house. He seemed to be okay this morning, too. I got up close enough to take pictures, and nearly took one of Bonnie's nose, as she reached out to sniff the camera. She had to be sure I wasn't up to any mischief with that camera.

----------------

I am going to start trying to get a little more exercise. Moan. Why, oh, why do I act like this is SUCH a big deal? Once I get started, it's not bad at all, and it always makes me feel better afterwards. It also helps keep my jeans from getting too tight. Did I mention that my jeans are getting a bit snug? Not bad, and my weight is okay, but I'd just like for my clothes to fit a little better, so it's back to the treadmill I go. I've already removed the hanging baskets, so I've got no excuse. It's basically a matter of plugging it in. Really, that's all.

Stalling? Me? No, of course not! Hey, how's the weather in your neck of the woods? We have fake rain here today. What's fake rain? It's when it looks like it could rain, it smells like rain is in the air, it's even a little cooler outside. But then it only rains for 37 seconds and that's it. Done. Fake rain. So where was I? Let's see, I told you about the plumber... mm hmmm, told you about the calf, yes... and there was one other thing, wasn't there? Oh. The treadmill. Oh, okay... fine. I'm leaving, I'm leaving! And I PROMISE that I am going to get on the treadmill and actually WALK for a while. Maybe not a long time, but I am going to walk some, just to get started. Here I go then.

La la la... la la la... choir practice starts tonight. Had the month of July off. I sing second soprano, not all that great, but... what? Who's procrastinating? ME? You think I'm stalling again?

Rats. Off to the treadmill!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter