The Farm

June 26, 2001 ~ Have you ever been so tired

that it hurts? Not your usual sleepy, yawn-yawn, I-think-maybe-I'll-go-lie-down-now-tired, but an almot painful tiredness? It hit me about 8:30 last night, as a feeling of heaviness descended. I could barely stay awake until nine o'clock. And when I woke up at about 4:00, I couldn't go back to sleep, so I just lay there, STILL feeling that bone-weary tiredness. It feels like swimming underwater, where everything is slowed down and seems to take extra effort. Normally, I'm up with the chickens, literally... out there just about the time the rooster starts crowing, ready to get an early start on the day. But not this day. I know I should get outside and take care of the animals. The bees are waking up, and they're probably going to pester me. They're probably in the barn right now, planning how they're going to swoop down into my face, get in my hair, or crawl down into my boots. But I just want to lie down. And when I lie down, I just want to close my eyes and lay there, still and silent. Everything hurts. Joints and such. Well. I guess I'm not helping matters by moping around, whining. Sometimes you just have to get up and get going anyway.

----------

We heard from our older son the other day. He wrote "Private" before his name, with a bunch of numbers after it, and he still used that same official Ft. Something return address. I'm beginning to suspect that MAYBE he's really in the Army.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter