The Farm

Jan. 01, 2007 ~ New Year

We didn't stay up until midnight; did you? Did anyone manage it? Not only did we not stay up late, but I didn't get out of bed this morning until almost 11 a.m. Talk about a lazy slug!

We had a late lunch at our favorite Mexican food restaurant, and everything was excellent - the food, the service, and the company. Today I am grateful for those who work on holidays, so that others may go about their holiday routines, such as eating out. There are so many jobs that don't stop just because it's a holiday for everyone else, and for those workers, I give thanks.

Today I've considered the Serenity Prayer. Most of us have heard or read it, but if not, it goes like this:

"God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference."

I'm working on the "accepting" part. That's the hardest thing for me, to just accept that some things cannot be changed.

For those of you who are working, are you happy in your job, or is it just something that you do in order to get a paycheck? If you like it, what do you like about it? For those who are retired, same question, just consider how you felt in the past.

Just wondering.


Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter