The Farm

Aug. 26, 2006 ~ Losing it

After years of struggling with my weight, I conquered that problem with the help of a weight loss group. I worked for that group for several years, then resigned about a year and a half ago to take another job. It was still a struggle, even when working for the "Group," but I managed to stay at or very close to my goal weight. You would THINK that I would know enough about weight gain and loss to keep the weight off these past 18 months, but you would be mistaken. Or rather, knowledge doesn't always translate into intelligent behavior.

Husband and I have both suffered for my having quit the group, because my cooking and mealtime habits changed, and both of us have gained weight. But the good news is that we are back on the program again, and losing weight. We've both lost eight pounds each, and I only have ...mumble, mumble... more pounds to lose! That's right! "Mumble, mumble," because I've learned that the best way for me to lose weight is to focus on small increments at a time. It's hard to look at the big picture, but the little picture isn't as painful. I can't say that I feel a whole lot different yet, but that will come.

I've developed something called plantar fasciitis in both feet. It's a painful condition which makes it difficult to walk. Oh, boy. The doctor tried taping and padding my feet for a week to see if that would help. If it did, then custom-made orthotics would probably be beneficial. It didn't help; in fact it hurt even worse. Got the tape off yesterday. I was excited! It is a challenge to shower with big old plastic trash bags taped to both legs (to keep the tape and padding dry). And they don't work all that well, either. So, I'm taking muscle relaxers at night, because they make me too sleepy during the day. We'll see if that makes a difference.

I've found ways to adapt, sort of, to chronic pain in other parts of my body. But it's hard not to use your feet.

---------------------------------------

Last night I went outside to move the sprinkler in the front yard and there was much scrambling and scritch-scratching of feet, as two little raccoons, scared half to death, tried to make a hasty exit. Mango cat just rolled around on the porch looking cute.

"ACCKK!" I said.

"ACCKK!" they said. (In their own little raccoon way)

"Mango, please let me know when you are entertaining guests!"

"Mrrow!" he said.

Country living is never dull.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter