The Farm

Jul. 23, 2006 ~ Mango

The doorbell rang about 8:30 yesterday morning, a Saturday. Who wants unexpected visitors on Saturday morning? It was a married couple determined to convert me to their religion. They did not seem to care when I told them I had my own church - thank you very much for caring - and that in fact I worked at that church and... no thank you. They persisted, though, and I hated to be rude.

But Mango cat came to the rescue. He is probably the friendliest cat I've ever known. He will rub against the legs of every human being who sets foot on this property, no exceptions. He would most likely make friends with burglars, too. Anyway, as Mango approached the front porch, I told the visitors that the cat would rub against their legs and get cat hair all over them. That he might reach out and grab their feet with a paw, maybe with his claws extended. They pooh-poohed my comments, saying he wouldn't bother them. I repeated what I told them as the cat came closer, and said, "You've been warned."

When he in fact did rub against them and got cat hair all over the nice man's nice suit, there was grumbling and whining and "Can't you make him stop?" To which I replied, "No. I warned you. And the cat lives here. You, uh, don't."

They must have decided that my soul wasn't worth saving so they wished me a nice day as they quickly walked away, keeping a wary eye on the cat.

Hmmmph.

It's not that I'm unfriendly. And I appreciate their concern, such as it was, for my soul. But for goodness sake, if you want to try to convert someone, DON'T INSULT THEIR CAT!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter