The Farm

May. 02, 2006 ~ Falling leaves

He made me cry again today. It�s been awhile, and I wasn�t sure he still had that power, but he does. He�s leaving soon, and he doesn�t really care about much of anything anymore. He doesn�t even pretend. He rarely shows up, and when he does, he doesn�t stay long. People who talk to him for any length of time emerge from his office with this dazed expression, one I well understand. He�s not what they expected. I am counting the days till he�s gone.

I thought I was holding it together, putting on a good show, and was trying to go about my business, head held high. �I am woman, hear me roar.� But then someone said, �What�s wrong with your eyes?� �My eyes?� �Your eyes. You look like you�ve been crying your eyes out. Are you all right?� To which I replied, �I�m fine. Just a problem with my eyes. Very dry, you know. They get this way sometimes.� At that point it became hard to pretend, and pretty soon I was crying again. Plans changed, so I could go repair the damage, redo the makeup, try to unstuff the stuffy nose. Cold water didn�t do much, but it felt good on my face.

Well. It doesn�t matter much. In the words of a friend, �It�s only falling leaves��

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter