The Farm

Jul. 18, 2003 ~ Cleaning house

These past couple of weeks, I've been feeling the urge to go through closets, cabinetes, boxes and such, and sort things out. Much has been thrown away. Today I managed to go through one entire cabinet filled with books. There are piles to give away, a small pile of books to read, and a few odds and ends. Why, oh, why, do I save so much stuff? "Stuff" in this case being some of my mother's file folders, filled with things like her lists of monthly expenses, obituaries and photos of people I never knew, and newspaper clippings. Most were tossed in the trash. There was one thing which made me laugh. It was a photocopy of something I'd written as a teenager. It was funny, and was meant to be. It's in my handwriting, and is in my writing style, and it's obviously mine, but I absolutely do not remember writing it. I'll probably save that for now, and in a few more years I'll come across it and wonder, "Now, why on earth did I save this?"

It's good, getting rid of clutter. I like empty space, or having enough space for the things we cherish or use.

I threw away Misha's insulin and his bottle of corn syrup (for low blood sugar emergencies), and am planning to give his unopened packages of syringes to a diabetic I know, who uses the same type of syringe. I've washed all Misha's towels and blankets, and am just trying... I don't know what I'm trying to do. Create order where there is sadness. Something like that. I'm doing a little bit at a time, so it's not so overwhelming. Just sorting through one cabinet or one box, and then if I'm up for more, I do more. If not, it will keep.

Funny thing, we had lots and lots of empty boxes, which we thought were just taking up space. So Husband got rid of those, right before I started my cleaning/sorting efforts. Guess what we could use a lot of, right now? Mmm, hmmm. Boxes. And we're fresh out.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter