The Farm

Jul. 11, 2003 ~ Is it hot in here,

or is it just me? That's been the question in recent months. Turns out that it's just me. The results of recent lab work and the doctor's observations confirm that I am "hormonally disadvantaged." So a new phase of life is beginning, with whatever changes it holds. I'm sure that some of the changes will be good ones, but at the moment... it's "interesting." This is a time of adjustment. I tried claiming I was too young for this (47), but the doctor just smiled and said I was young, but not too young.

We had our new air conditioner installed last week, and though the guys had measured everything and assured me that the dimensions were appropriate for our closet, it did not easily fit. When they were done moving things around, it did not look to me as if we would be able to remove the water heater, should we need to. And of course we will need to. We're on our third water heater in 10 years. The first one failed because the plumber had not installed it properly. The second one just failed. We're keeping our fingers crossed about our current one. But realistically, it will probably need to be replaced before the AC unit, and... well... one of the guys from the AC company is coming out today to assess the situation. We'll see what he has to say.

I talked to a good friend yesterday whose personal and family problems seem overwhelming. After a long conversation, I came away with the feeling that my own troubles are very minor, in the grand scheme of things.

Misha is not doing well at all, and a visit with Susan is in order, so she can check him out, determine his level of pain or discomfort. I don't want him to suffer. I've said this several times before and have been mistaken, but it may be getting close to the time to let him go. Susan is out of town for the weekend, but when she returns, Misha will need to see her.

It's a beautiful day today. A bit warm, but this is summer in Texas. The pastures are green and have plenty of grass, which is unusual for this time of year. We are grateful. The cows are content. Life is good.

Life will be even better when Soldier Boy comes home.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter