The Farm

Feb. 18, 2003 ~ What's that in the distance?

Husband and I were feeding the cows tonight, when I saw a spot of color in the back pasture, and the spot was moving.

"Is that a calf, there in the distance? Just to the left of the feed trough."

It looked like it was moving its head, so Husband and I walked out to investigate. As we got closer we found it wasn't a calf at all. Our "baby" was actually an almost deflated heart-shaped red balloon with "Hot Stuff!" written on it. (What kind of Google hits do you think those words will spark?) And it was swaying a little, in the breeze.

When we returned to the herd, we realized that one of the cows was bleeding, and she should have been with calf. She wouldn't have been far along, maybe a month or two, but she has probably miscarried. In the animal world they call it 'aborted,' but I wouldn't want anyone to get the wrong idea.

We had sunshine and mostly blue skies today. We were told to enjoy it, as it will probably rain the rest of this week.

I am taking lovely new (really, not so lovely) medication for my perpetual sinus infection. Round five of antibiotics, along with steroids and a decongestant. One or possibly all three of the prescriptions are making me dizzy and sick to my stomach. Steroids tend to affect me that way, so they are the drug of last resort. Only take them when I absolutely have to. Which reminds me, I need to eat something (ick) so I can take another dose.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter