The Farm

Jan. 09, 2003 ~ Horse Mom

The past few days I have been in heavy duty Horse Mom mode. Dakotah, who is truly the horsey love of my life, has a problem with his leg. Between trips to the vet, the drugstore, and taking care of my boy, it has taken up much of my time. Kotah Bear had been limping for a few days, just a little, but we could find nothing wrong. No obvious hoof injuries. But then his ankle started to swell, and we thought it must be a sprain or a strain. It's happened before. They run and play, come down wrong or step in a hole, and they get hurt. The expression "healthy as a horse" is a joke. Horses are big babies, for all their size and appearance of strength, they're often sensitive creatures, and easily injured.

The swelling spread from his ankle to his knee, then to the entire leg, in no time. The farrier found that Dakotah had an abscess inside his hoof, and it finally ruptured at the top of his hoof. So the boy is getting the largest possible dose of anti-inflammatories, oral antibiotics, and the kicker is he's supposed to soak his hoof three times a day. A certain unnamed vet is always coming up with these goofball things for me to do to the animals. He smiles when he tells me, but he's serious, too. He explained the soaking process, which involves taking a soft bucket, filling it with warm water and epsom salts, and having the horse stand with his leg in the bucket for 15 or 20 minutes. Right.

"And a horse is going to voluntarily do this?" I asked.

Mr. Vet smiled.

"Sometimes they will. Some of them like it; it feels good to them."

I think I rolled my eyes in disbelief, but I'm always game for anything that will help the animals, so I promised to try.

The first attempt at soaking got me pretty wet, and I think maybe the water was too hot. I have a problem judging temperature, and have to be careful not to burn myself with hot water. So even though the water felt fine to me, I should have known it probably was too warm. Dakotah didn't want his foot in the bucket, and kept taking it out. Later attempts went much more smoothly, as we worked out a routine. I fill the bucket with hot water from the bathtub, add the epsom salts, carry it outside and add cold water there. If it feels lukewarm, I assume it's probably pretty warm to most folks and is about right. I use the high power sprayer to hose off the horse's foot and leg, lift up his leg, scoot the bucket under him, and then put his foot in the bucket. He hasn't resisted since the first time. It's hard for a person with back problems to do these things, but the horse shouldn't be penalized for that.

He is really the BEST horse in the world, and it amazes me that he's so cooperative about all this. He takes his medicine without much fuss, and he stands dutifully with his foot in that silly bucket. I brush him, pet him, hug him, talk to him, and just try to be there with him while he soaks. Sometimes he puts his head on my shoulder; sometimes he tucks his nose between my arm and side. This morning there was a coyote in the pasture while Dakotah was soaking, and he is very afraid of coyotes. Bucky will chase after them and try to stomp them or kick them (dogs, too), but Dakotah hates them and is afraid. As usual, he tried to hide behind me, which is a pretty good trick for a thousand pound animal. Does he really think he's hidden? But I yelled at the coyote... really less of a yell than a squeaky croak, and the animal eventually ran off into the woods. Dakotah sighed big. Poor baby. A sore foot and coyotes, too...

The swelling does seem to have gone down, which is a big relief. If he's not just a whole lot better by Saturday, he has to make a trip to the vet's. He's a good traveler, but Doc is talking about opening up his hoof to help the infection drain... and I know that would hurt. Let's hope that doesn't happen.


Husband's mother is about the same; there is no news to report.


There has been no further word from Soldier Boy, though we have read his first letter about 12,000 times. Possibly more.


College Boy has been enjoying a brief break from classes (he works at the school, so he goes there anyway, class or no class) but the new semester begins next week.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter