The Farm

Dec. 30, 2002 ~ Questions

We are not sure what is happening with Husband's mom at this point. We were told by the doctors that she didn't have much time left, but she is doing a little better. Is it enough to make a difference? We don't know. Husband is home now, exhausted from all the trips back and forth. Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers.

I took a break here to check the mail. On the way to the mailbox, I could already see my revised journal entry. The subject line would read, "THE LETTER!" But the mail held only a stupid ad and my stupid paycheck. One would think I would be grateful for the paycheck, and I am, but I would trade it in a heartbeat for one little note from the boy.

Not sure what is going on. I am trying to be patient. It is especially hard because we keep seeing these little bits on TV, where the service men and women get to say hi to their families and friends back home. And I hear stories about soldiers who are able to email their families, but that obviously hasn't happened here. I'm glad that some people are able to hear from their loved ones, but... truth be told, this is very hard. The rational part of me assumes that this is just the slow mail that Soldier Boy warned us about. The Mother in me worries that something is wrong.

Bucky is in the wrong pasture. It's very windy, and maybe if the gate wasn't securely latched, it blew open. But he is out there having a good time, and I guess it's okay for him to be there. Dakotah was grumpier than usual this morning. He is absolutely not a biter, has never bitten us, not even once, but he nipped at me twice today. He is limping a little bit, and the nipping was his way of saying, "Ow." "I hurt, Mom. Please be careful." Thought about waiting for Husband to get home and letting him check Dakotah's feet, but that would make me quite the slacker horse mom. So I stroked his neck and whispered in his ear, told him how sorry I was that he was hurting, and promised to be careful. I asked him to give me his foot, which is usually all it takes, but a foot was not forthcoming. Touched his leg, his hoof, but the foot stayed firmly planted on the ground. Finally he lifted his hoof, sinking a little lower to the ground in the process, and let me clean it out. We repeated this on the other side, and I couldn't find anything wrong. It's too soon to give him medicine, because the anti-inflammatories can mask a more serious problem, if one exists. So we'll wait and see how he's doing tonight. Poor boy.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter