The Farm

Oct. 12, 2002 ~ It's been a busy week,

and yet I haven't really done much. Shopped a lot, cooked, washed many dishes. Husband washed dishes, too, which is new for him, and I am very pleased with these developments. There hasn't been much computer time, because the BOYS (Soldier and College) have been using it a lot. It's been such a long time since I could say the word "boys," could speak of them both being here together. Lately, when people have asked, "How are the boys?" they were referring to the cats. Now, they are speaking of my real babies. And yes, they will always be my babies, no matter what they say.

Husband and the boys are on their way out of town today, to visit faraway relatives, so this gives me a bit of breathing room. Down time. No matter how welcome the guest, even if that guest is a beloved family member, sometimes I really just need a little quiet time alone. No TV, no music, nothing but the bird songs and the wind, perhaps the meow of an occasional cat.

Today will be quiet. A long, chatty phone call with a friend, baskets of laundry, a trip to the feed store, and perhaps some time to read.

The sun is shining! All this week it's been cloudy and gloomy, but today it's bright and cheerful, and the guys aren't here to enjoy it. Maybe it's pretty where they are. Hope so.

It may be Monday before I have time for another entry. That's the day I'll drive Soldier Boy to the airport.

I'm already dreading Monday.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter