The Farm

Jun. 04, 2002 ~ It seems like

today just got away from me. I hit the ground running each morning, because there are so many things I want to accomplish early on... but there's only so much morning in each day. In Texas it gets hot by 10:00 AM... heck, sometimes it gets hot by 8:00. So the wise choice is to get the outside chores done early, or else do them late in the evening. And then there's the little matter of the BEES. I do not like them, Sam I am. I do not like them in a box, I do not like them smashed with rocks. I do not like them, not one bit. Each time I see one, I could spit.

Bees and wasps are evil, horrible, nasty insects, and I have major reactions when I get stung (though nothing life-threatening), so frankly, I wish they didn't exist. They lurk everywhere, and I'll innocently put my hand on a gate or on the lid of a barrel and ZAP! I'm stung. But the little beasts aren't as active early in the morning or late at night -- at night their little friends, the mosquitoes, take over. Of course. How did I get on this subject? Oh, yeah... mornings. It's good to get the barn chores done early, before it gets hot and the devil's insects wake up. But first things first.

Misha needs his shot, pills and food, first thing, and his cat box needs cleaned. He has accidents, sometimes, and those must be cleaned up. Then it's time to toss a load of clothes in the washer, maybe empty the dishwasher, make the bed, and before I know it, the sun is rising in the sky. The horses need separated... Bucky must stay in the pen, and the other horses need to go out in the little pasture. The heifers need to go to the hay meadow. Bucky needs hay and fresh water, and then it's time to feed the chickens and ducks.

Something got the eggs last night -- I found the broken shells in the nest boxes. Wonder what it was? Snake? The birds need fresh water, and so do the heifers, and then the stalls get cleaned. Is there time to pick the squash? That takes quite a while, and the whole time, I must be careful of the bees. They're right there in the blossoms, buzzing to and fro. Is there time to water the garden, or will that have to wait until later? What about burning trash? Check the calves, especially Roscoe/Rocky/Butch/Rufus... check on Barbara Jean... she was limping yesterday, and what about the fence... is it too late to check the fence? Too hot already, better wait till evening.

It goes on and on. Plus appointments, plus meetings, plus household chores, plus all the things you never plan on doing... all the things that just come up. And yet, other people do all this and much, much more, and seem to do it so much BETTER than I do.

Anyway, the day, as usual, got away from me. Better get to bed now, and try to get up early tomorrow... because I'll need to do it all over again, and then some.

Wouldn't have it any other way, though.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter