The Farm

May. 17, 2002 ~ They're gone.

The truck and the Vega left this morning, towed off to that great salvage yard in the sky. I think the Vega is headed for the crusher. The truck has a little more value, and will probably be sold part by part. That's fine. I'm glad for it to be of use to someone.

Just as the guys were hooking the vehicles to their tow-trucks, it started raining. Then it started pouring down, blinding rain, the kind that cancels all your plans. The animals will be having a late breakfast today. I'd like to think they won't mind much, but they're probably out there bad-mouthing me even now. My ears are burning.

"Well," Son said, "I guess I won't be running those errands today." And he headed back to bed.

"Well," I said, "I didn't really want to mow the yard anyway."

There's plenty to do inside, housework and such. Not that I'm crazy about DOING it, mind you. I'm a good farm girl, and don't mind working hard outdoors. But vacuuming, dusting... blech. Oh, well. I like the end results, when things look cleaner.

It looks like the rain has slacked off some, so maybe I can go feed the critters. Their grumbling is getting awfully loud...

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter