The Farm

Apr. 13, 2002 ~ One of those days

Some days you can just TELL, right away, that it's going to be one of those days. Case in point -- Husband and our friend are moving hay today. They can each bring three of the big bales at a a time, and each guy has a truck and trailer. While they're doing that, I planned to move the hay to the storage area. But the tractor is acting ornery; it won't shift out of gear. What does this mean? It's not good, I know that. I can turn it off and shift the gears, but I can't keep doing that, and besides, I don't want to run it while it's acting up, because I could damage vital parts and such. Of the TRACTOR, not me! Oh, but speaking of vital parts, when I got down from the tractor I saw a squashed wasp on the tractor seat. Meaning yours truly had sat down on a live wasp somehow (there was nothing on the seat when I'd first sat down), hadn't gotten stung, and had killed the nasty wasp. Does this mean that I have gooshy wasp stuff on my shorts, though? ANYway, the tractor is acting up, and hubby (a diesel mechanic) suggested that I needed to... um... I think he said "Idle it down," then change gears. Said it wouldn't shift gears with it running wide open. That didn't sound right to me, because I've been driving the tractor for years, didn't do anything different today, and I don't ever run it at high speed, anyway.

I'd been on the lawnmower when Husband and I had this conversation. The lawnmower had been hard to start (because it's old and knows its warranty has expired), but I wasn't smart enough to leave it running when I stopped to talk to Hubby. Nooooooo, that would have been too easy. So when he drove away and I tried to start the mower again, it wouldn't start. Grrrrrrr.

Not giving up, I went back to the tractor and tried following Husband's advice, but that didn't help. Duh.

The lawnmower still won't start, either.

At least the computer still works.

Husband is back with more hay... so I'm going out to talk to him. I may just spend the day reading the paper and goofing off.

Maybe I'll just go back to bed.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter