The Farm

Oct. 03, 2001 ~ Shipping out?

Those were the words Larry used, though he didn't mean it the way it sounded. Our son called while I was at work; I came home to the message that he had passed the test to get into jump school, and he would be "shipping out" this week. Well. What he MEANT was that the boy would be moving to a different location on the same base. And even though I knew what he was trying to say, just the sound of it took my breath away. I guess that he will move today or tomorrow, and the actual Airborne training should start soon.

Airborne. Paratrooper training. Now is not a good time for this, no... not at all. A number of the soldiers never make it through jump school, mostly due to injuries or to the inability to pass some of the physical tests. I'm torn. We want our kids to have what they want, but we don't want them to do something that will put them in harm's way. So I don't know what to wish for. Guess I can only hope and pray that it works out for the best, whatever that may be.

---------------------

We are still duckless in Texas. Except for our tame ducks, of course. I remember the days when they could wander around in the yard, happy as could be. They used to follow me around whenever I mowed; they'd eat the bugs that were blown behind the mower. Today I mowed and thought about those times. But the neighbors' dogs are a menace. They don't even care if we are out in the yard... they'll still go after the ducks and they have killed a few. So the ducks live in the pen now. Poor babies. At least they are alive.

-----------------------

Pepper seems to be feeling a little better now. Now that he's off the medication, his appetite is coming back. He's still very thin, but he's gaining strength.

Guess that's about all the news today.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter