The Farm

July26, 2001 - Again ~ People may try to tell you

that you shouldn't go grocery shopping when you are hungry. I tell people this very thing, practically on a daily basis. I try to sound very wise and clever and it really does seem like a good idea, on the surface. Don't shop when you're hungry, because if you do you will tend to buy a bunch of stuff that you don't really need, and most of it will be non-essential, non-nutritious junk. In other worse, you aren't likely to stock up on carrots, unless you have a horse, which is a whole different issue. We personally buy two five-pound bags of carrots every time we go to the store, but I digress.

So yesterday I went shopping, and my son went along because he was afraid I would buy too much healthy stuff and not nearly enough junk. He wanted to supervise, to be sure I brought home plenty of high-quality snacks. But we made one tiny mistake. We stopped at KFC for lunch, and were full to the brim, so full that there wasn't space for another molecule of food in our bodies, so in theory we were all set to do some efficient grocery shopping. I bought all the required junk for my son, bought what I thought was sufficient junk for myself and Larry, put it all away, and that was that.

Until this morning. This morning I discovered the error of my ways. If anybody tries to tell you that bit about not shopping when you're hungry, tell them this...

If you shop when you are full, you probably won't buy enough snacks! Instead, you'll wake up the next day and find that some loon has filled your cabinets and pantry with such things as caramel-flavored rice cakes and "nutritional snack bars" (say what?), and if you try to find this loon to complain about it, people will laugh and tell you that you can find the loon in the nearest mirror. Ha ha ha ha! So amusing! There is a lot of fresh fruit, fat-free yogurt, fat-free pudding, and I suspect that somewhere there is a tub of fat-free fat. I don't doubt it.

Soooooooo... there was nothing to do but head for Joe's. Joe sells the perfect cheeseburger. Absolutely perfect. Fried, not broiled, a little on the greasy side, the bun is grilled, the cheese is thick and melted. With an order of Texas Toothpicks (fried strips of jalapenos and onions), some salt, some Ranch dressing, I knew I would probably make it.

Sometimes you just need a little grease. And some salt. And Ranch dressing. And jalapenos, don't forget the jalapenos. Not ALL the time, mind you. Certainly not more often than once or twice a month... that's plenty for me.

Sometimes I will eat rice cakes. But next time, I'm going to get some jelly beans, too.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter