The Farm

July 5, 2001 ~ One of those days

Do you ever have one of those days when things just don't feel right, but you can't put your finger on anything, can't actually name anything wrong? We spent most of yesterday with friends/neighbors, eating lunch, playing dominoes (the guys played dominoes, the women visited in the other room), and later, setting off fireworks. I asked our friends if they were at all worried about fire, since it hadn't been that long since their barn burned down, and after all, we WERE out there by the barn. Nope, they weren't worried a bit, and when you think about it, there was no reason they should have been. I mean, no more than anyone else should be. Their barn fire was electrical in nature, totally unrelated to fireworks, so why would I even ask about something like that? I don't know, maybe because I worry about stuff like that anyway. Fireworks? Risk of fire. Risk of losing an eye, a finger, a hand... who knows. Risky! Anyway.

We had a good time yesterday, not a thing was wrong, other than that unusual friend our son brought home... that was a bit off-putting. But most of his friends are very polite, good kids, so I guess we shouldn't worry too much. I suppose we have to trust his judgment, right? And regardless, there comes a time when they have to make their own mistakes, when we can't be there to protect them. In some respects, that time is now.

So I don't know what's bothering me, but it's that naggy, little irritating something, itching away, giving me grief. Is it the fact that we haven't heard from our older son lately (as in... this week)? Doubt it. He'd written several letters over the course of a couple of weeks, and obviously mailed them all at once; maybe it was the first chance he got to mail them. Perhaps that's what's happening now. But we continue to write to him, and I expect we will hear from him eventually.

Maybe I'm just tired, or trying to do too much. Kinda feels that way, but then it almost always feels that way. Maybe tomorrow will be better. Probably so... probably so.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter